New Mixed-Media Work (Part 1)

Title: Mondegreen
Medium: watercolor and stitched fibers (cotton thread) on paper
Measurements: 5×7 inches

Here is the first of some new work. So far it is just posted here, but soon I will list them on my Etsy shop.

It has been awhile since I have shown any new work, and I wanted to share why. I know I don’t talk about myself or my life on here a lot (or at all, maybe!), but I am coping with multiple chronic illnesses. This year I am at home doing IV treatments through a portacath, and there are a lot of factors that make it impossible for me to work/paint/draw or even gather the energy to post other artists’ work on this blog. (Pinterest is easier- if you follow me there you can find a lot of great art/ists that I haven’t been able to share on here)

I really appreciate the followers I have, and hope you forgive me for my infrequent posting… I would like to be more “personal,” and share some more about my experiences. It will probably be cathartic for me, and maybe even help someone who is going through something similar. So, expect some text-laden posts in the future, instead of just my usual image-laden posts! I might be showing some more of my sketches and other unfinished work too, as it is taking me a very looong time to finish paintings lately.

If there are other chronically ill artists (or otherwise “limited”– I know there are lots of physical and mental obstacles that effect our creativity)  who read this blog (I know of a few that I am also following!)- please feel free to comment with links to your own blog or contact me privately- I’d love to feature your work!

Leave a comment

Filed under Chronic Illness & Art, More About Me, My Work, Shop News

Leave a Reply

