New Mixed-Media Work (Part 2)

Title(s): Color Scheme No. 1 and No. 2
Medium: watercolor and stitched fibers (cotton thread) on paper
Paper size: 5×7 inches

More embroidered paintings! These two mixed-media pieces are small “color stories”. Sometimes before I start a painting, I make a small “color scheme” sketch to get a feel for which colors I want to paint with. I personally love looking at these little color sketches (almost as much as the actual finished painting they inspire). I thought I should come up with a way to “elevate” these sketches, so that they were final products in their own right- and this is what I came up with! The graphic black stitches connect each color to form a unique composition.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspiration, My Work, Shop News

Leave a Reply

